EB: Giving ’em the business!

Brain dumps from the original Bonehead.

Happy Turkey Day!

There’s something very counter-culture-cool about that isn’t there?  “Turkey Day”.  It says I’m hip, I’m cool, I’m not stiff and boring like my parents or my old schoolmarm.  It’s something that happened around the time little kids started wanting to be Wolverine instead of Superman. 

Superman???  What about Thor!!

Whatever… you get the idea.  I guess alot of things lose their meanings over time and holidays are not immune to this phenomenon.  But then, sometimes, something special happens that just reminds you what it’s all supposed to be about. 

On Thanksgiving day this year one of my neighbors dropped by unexpectedly.  I met him about a month or so ago in the aftermath of Hurricane Wilma when everyone in my community met and banded together to support each other through a rough time.  While watching the Annual Detroit Lions Pounding that takes place on Thanksgiving day every year, he came knocking to see if I’d eaten.  Within minutes he returned with “a nice, homecooked Puerto Rican meal” for me. 

I wasn’t hungry when he came by AND I already had food but none of that mattered.  What was striking was that a relative stranger saw fit to give selflessly to me and, for the spirit of his good-natured gift, I was thankful.  Happy Thanksgiving.

-E

November 26, 2005 - Posted by | Random Ramblings

2 Comments »

  1. Happy T Day to you too!!! (I can be hip too!)

    Comment by Poca | November 28, 2005 | Reply

  2. Aww, E 🙂

    Comment by Glenda | November 29, 2005 | Reply


Leave a Reply

