EB: Giving ’em the business!

Brain dumps from the original Bonehead.

Rediscovering the Passionate Lullabye.

If I said I’d been asleep for the past three weeks would you believe me?  Yeah I suppose I could’ve been comatose or something but that wasn’t the case – a piece of my soul had gone inert and it’s an absolutely devastating feeling.  I found myself feeling depressed because things that used to mean alot to me have begun to mean alot less and my sense of identity was challenged because of it.

All of this lead me to begin thinking alot about passion lately; specifically about trying to understand it.  I think the commonly accepted definition is off base because it’s not about sex or romance at all.  Think about it – for many people sex is no more passionate than an exercise bike, and romance is a tool in an emotional chess match.  Passion simply has to be more than that. 

I don’t enjoy being angry but I am infinitely grateful for my ability to get angry.  I used to refer to anger as my “default” emotion; it protected me from extended bouts of depression or frustration.  I inevitably get pissed, usually at myself for not exerting more control over the circumstances in my life, and once that anger gets me going I begin to feel alive again.  My goals become clear and my pursuit of those goals is nothing short of passionate.

Good morning!

-E

December 14, 2005 - Posted by | Random Ramblings

4 Comments »

  1. You go from passion to anger. What’s the common thread for you? Do you feel that anger is your response for your intense passion for something or are you stating too seperate/unique comments?

    I do agree that passion is definitely more than just sex or romance. I feel that it is an ingrained feeling for someone/something. I feel that sex and/or romance are nothing without passion. That’s why I’m celibate! :o)

    Poca

    Comment by Poca | December 14, 2005 | Reply

  2. That should’ve been two seperate comments. Anger, like passion, is invigorating and in recovering from my recent doldrums it was anger that helped me rediscover my passion for life.

    -E

    Comment by barber | December 14, 2005 | Reply

  3. It seems to me that there’s always going to be a period in one’s life where it feels like there’s a lack of passion/fire/excitement/desire/motivation. Call it what you will. This feeling could come and go as quickly as a daydream, but it is inevitibly replaced by some other emotion. I think without the doledrum, there’d be no excitment to life. It sort of keeps us honest.

    Comment by Mike | December 21, 2005 | Reply

  4. very nice blog!mary

    Comment by Blogs, news and more! | January 11, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

