EB: Giving ’em the business!

Brain dumps from the original Bonehead.

The Time Machine.

Last night while watching last week’s re-run of Donald Trump’s “The Apprentice” I saw something I never would have expected – I saw two familiar faces.  Season four’s Final Two received their assignments and one of them was to promote an event for Yahoo!  During the show I was on the phone with my girlfriend and saw the apprentices hosting a meeting with Yahoo-folk and noticed that one of them looked eerily familiar but I wouldn’t put a name to the face.  Later on in the show I saw a second familiar face and suddenly locked it in – Wenda and Beth Ann! 

We all used to work together at an internet startup back in the late 90s where everything moved fast.  Although I didn’t spend alot of time working with Beth Ann (affectionately known as BAM back in those days), I did report to an amazing woman that reported directly to Wenda back when I first started there.  I vividly remember my entire 4-person support department being called into Wenda’s office to get chewed on specifically because *I* was underperforming and my boss, Priscilla, wouldn’t throw me under the bus. 

I’ve always been a team-oriented person.  I can think of few things more impressive than watching a group of individuals come together to complent and sacrifice for one another in pursuit of a larger goal.  I was overwhelmed with guilt for my poor performance and with appreciation for the team I worked with; they could’ve hung me out there on a limb but they didn’t.  Wenda’s been bigtime since long before I met her – there were so many co-workers there that were deathly afraid of her that I’ll admit even I was intimidated sitting in her office that day! 

I waited around after she was done with us and closed the door after everyone left.  Alone in her office I took, what I felt at the time, was a huge risk: I felt that the truth had gotten me pretty far in life and I was going to stick with it so I told her that every item she brought us in to address was not the fault of my team – it was exclusively my fault.  I told her I didn’t want to waste her time making excuses for what happened but I understood what needed to be done and I promised it would never, ever happen again.  Truthfully, I half-expected her to pull a Trump on me and give me the old “You’re Fired!!”, but she didn’t.  She smiled.  She seemed a bit surprised or impressed (or both) by my admission, but then thanked me… she said that she believed I could fix the problem and that I would fix the problem. 

That was all I needed to hear so, with my neck still intact, I got right back to it.  Working longer and harder and most importanly smarter than before.  A year later, around the time my dept was praised at a company meeting for transforming from a weakness into a strength, word got around that I was about to transfer into one of the sales divisions.  One of Wenda’s divisions.  While passing by she stopped at my desk to chat for a bit and reminded me of the promise I made to her in her office that day.  Smiling again, she said “You kept your promise.  You did a really great job here.  We’re very excited that you’re coming over.”

Do you ever wonder if the people you remember still remember you?

-E

December 14, 2005 - Posted by | Personal Revelations

3 Comments »

  1. I definitely wonder if people I remember still remember me. I distinctly remember my 3rd grade teacher (Ms. Milazzo) and how wonderful she was with the entire class. Her warmth just radiated to everyone around. Would she remember me?
    I also remember this really nice guy who helped me in a Computer class during my sophomore year of college. We both seemed to be on the same level; not scholarly, but spiritually. We had the same quirky sense of humor and some of the same ‘nerdy’ qualities (smile). I loved our friendship. I wonder if he still remembers me (at least in the same way)? 🙂

    Poca

    Comment by Poca | December 14, 2005 | Reply

  2. I’m quite certain he does.

    -E

    Comment by barber | December 14, 2005 | Reply

  3. You know, a lot of your colleagues think the world of you, and I wouldn’t be surprised if Wenda remembered you if she saw you face-to-face again. In fact, I’d probably put money on it.

    Comment by Glenda | December 15, 2005 | Reply


Leave a Reply

