EB: Giving ’em the business!

Brain dumps from the original Bonehead.

‘Fraidy Cat.

I suck at New Year’s Resolutions.  I really do.  Not for a lack of ideas – I can think of plenty of improvements I’d like to make in my life or on myself or whatever; it’s just… something… terrifying…  Ok, look at it like this: We’re almost halfway through January and I still haven’t made a New Year’s Resolution yet!  I just find some kind of inescapable attraction to The Incomplete Idea.  Undone, it’s still perfectly well intentioned but still has plenty of potential and flexibility.  It hasn’t yet faced the cold harshness that completion can sometimes bring. 

Damn you’re one pessimistic sumbitch!

Hold up!  This isn’t pessimism at all.  In fact, just a few weeks ago I completed a personal goal that I’d been chasing down every day for the past two years!  I guess it’s just an exaggerated fear of failure?  It’s not like I’m some loser that can’t get anything done either it just – sometimes seeing the mountain is much harder than climbing it.  Have you ever really wanted to do something that you just weren’t sure you could pull off – so you manage to find one excuse after another for why you shouldn’t do it or why you should wait awhile or whatever?  I do it.  I do it all the time and… now that I think about it… that should be my New Year’s Resolution. 

To stop getting in your own way?  That won’t be easy!

True, but they have a saying in the gym: If it was easy everybody would do it.  The real trick is going to be learning to become an impartial judge when gauging my current self versus my ideal self; once I can do that the rest should be easy!  Sometimes I just don’t understand me.  I once saw a friend getting beat up by four guys and, without a moment’s hesitation, I charged in to help him.  Is it unusual for me to be able to face potential injury and occasionally even death, with total composure but the potential for committing myself to a goal and failing absolutely scares me silly?

-E

January 15, 2006 - Posted by | Personal Revelations

1 Comment »

  1. Your comments really hit home. I have been making the same New Year’s resolution every year for the past 3 to 4 years – lose weight. I really believe that I can do it, but I “keep getting in my own way” with every excuse I can think of. Maybe I should change my New Year’s resolution to……”I will think of 50 excuses why I can’t go to the gym and why I can’t lose weight”. That way, I can definitely reach my goal! (lol)

    Comment by Poca | January 19, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

