EB: Giving ’em the business!

Brain dumps from the original Bonehead.

Doing it for free.

About a month ago a potentially catastrophic event happened at my job.  This is going to be a bit difficult to write about because I don't know all the details of what went on and exactly what could have gone wrong but that's ok because it has no bearing on where we're going with this.

Late one Friday night about a month ago I was home relaxing when I saw an email come in on the work line: Sandy, a co-worker on the West Coast was processing a work order that, for whatever reason, absolutely had to be completed that night.  In his email he explained that the order he was working on was too big to be finished that night and would have to be completed later. 

You see, sometimes it's more than just words on a page; sometimes it's a bit less like a crossword puzzle and more like a word hunt… the message is in there but you have to go get it because it won't just jump out at you.  When I read that seemingly harmless message I found an implication that bothered me: There's a big order that needs to be done tonight and me and Barber and the rest of this team can't handle it.  We've failed.

 Uhm yeah.  This is the part where all those hormones get to flowin' and Barber starts to get that look in his eyes…

Recently my state's lottery went up to $50 million and I was talking with a friend about what kind of stuff we'd do if we got that kind of grand payday.  He looked at me funny when I told him I'd keep my job but I really would and I'll tell you why. 

  • Although my job affords me little opportunity to learn anything new, it does require me to engage my mind and to execute tasks at blinding pace and that, to me, can be fun!  It's clearly not something I want to do for the rest of my life but because of the difficulty involved, sometimes it's fun when I can dig in and prove to myself that I've still got it. 
  • More importantly than that is the fact that I love my team.  Department?  No.  Division?  No.  This is a team in the truest sense of the word.  We've got nearly 20 people and there is No Dead Weight on this team.  Not only do we have fun, agreeable personalities here but everyone is tactically proficient – even the new people!  Everyone freely shares information and everyone volunteers to help each other whenever the load is imbalanced.  It's an amazing environment.

When I read that email something stirred.  Sandy was telling outsiders that my team, our team, couldn't get it done.  It was somewhere around 11pm that Friday night when I excused myself from my phone call and logged on to help him out.  We coordinated over IM – he took the high level stuff and I took the grunt work.  It took about two or three hours but we got it done in time. 

Before going to sleep I saw the correction email he sent out informing everyone that we got the job done.  I slept well that night.

 

-E

January 30, 2006 - Posted by | Work

5 Comments »

  1. Good Job!!! It takes a real ‘team player’ to jump in when the going gets rough and you did it. Most individuals would have blown a gasket at that email (sh@#$t…..I did when I read the portion of the email!!!), but you kept cool and rolled up your sleeves and proved that you are the man!!

    Keep it up! You would be a great asset to any team! (not just saying that because you’re my friend, either :o)

    Still missin’ ya………….

    Comment by Poca | January 30, 2006 | Reply

  2. I looked over that story and maybe because i know you on a personal level (What you did there is what any teammate would of loved to be able to do, and I’m sure thier happy as hell you stepped up) but in my book you did what any great leader would and should be expected to do. So I don’t really have a comment but more of a question, whem are you going to get your ass up and claim whats yours? The Leadership position!!!

    Comment by Darcey Omeus | January 31, 2006 | Reply

  3. You know what your problem is E! You hate to fail. Don’t get me wrong I applaude your efforts but you can’t always win! Be easy on yourself sometimes just don’t use that as an excuse to slack!

    Comment by India S. Price-Williams | March 1, 2006 | Reply

  4. I beg to differ, baby sister! I’ve met a great number of people with high ambition but no drive. If refusing to be ok with failing is a problem, it’s one that I wish I could make contagious.

    -E

    Comment by barber | March 1, 2006 | Reply

  5. Yup, I want some of that. I can’t find any fault in what e did. Quite the opposite – it was the right thing to do. If you believe in karma, and I do, e has got some good shit coming to him.

    Karma: The total effect of a person’s actions and conduct during the successive phases of the person’s existence, regarded as determining the person’s destiny.

    Comment by Julian | March 25, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

