EB: Giving ’em the business!

Brain dumps from the original Bonehead.

Can’t Get Right.

Situation: Driver in Acura coupe fails to signal but otherwise, properly, attempts to move aside and let driver in Ford SUV overtake in the passing lane; Ford driver, anticipating that the Acura driver will do as many other SoFL drivers do, chooses not to wait for a courtesy that often isn't displayed at all and simply goes right to execute the pass.

Remember that Bobbing and Weaving thing I did where I was trying to understand all the nonsensical dipping and dodging that people will paint on the freeways down here in South Florida?  I saw it again on my way home from work last night and, as loathe as I am to admit this, it's actually starting to make sense. 

First things first – since all this was going to take place up ahead I applied the brakes.  Believe me, I could care less about having a great view; I just wanted some extra room to maneuver in case things got ugly.  Have you ever seen that motion a car makes when the driver goes but then suddenly yanks it back into place?  That kind of a snaping/wobbling looking movement, right?  Yeah well when that Acura driver realized the Ford was following them over that's what happened and it's usually a bad thing.  Back in the day, my friend/driving instructor used to tell me "it's all about smooth" and for good reason – jerky movements will disrupt your vehicle's balance and that make you into a roadside decoration. 

Fortunately there was no big bang but the end result is the Acura driver nearly got nailed in the ass for trying to do the right thing.  That was really important – did you get it?  The Acura driver nearly got nailed in the ass for trying to do the right thing.  I used to find it infuriating that these squatters will to go all the way over to the passing lane to pitch camp down here in sunshine land but eventually I just got used to it.  That doesn't make it ok, I just lowered my expectations.  Look, when paying your taxes on time incurs fines, or when pedestrians are safer crossing against a green light instead of with it, shit's pretty fucked up… and though I often focus on the drivers I don't blame them for all this, I blame the police.

"When in Rome", my ass.

-E

May 14, 2006 - Posted by | Driving

4 Comments »

  1. Ok….I blame the Acura driver….SHOULD NOT have been in the passing lane going slow anyway!!! But the Ford driver was a ‘little’ wrong as well. He should have stayed the course in the passing lane…”menancing” the Acura driver until he/she pulled over… 😀

    Comment by Poca | May 15, 2006 | Reply

  2. You know, on really angry days I’ve tried that and they just don’t move. I once “menaced” a driver in front of me literally for miles and they just don’t move.

    And what’s worse – when you finally concede that they intend to continue squatting in the passing lane until they get to their exit, and you pass them on the right, they’ll eyeball you on the way by like you’re nuts for thinking they were going to move over!

    Comment by barber | May 15, 2006 | Reply

  3. That is sooooo true! They stare at you as if YOU did something wrong! Gee whiz!

    Comment by Poca | May 16, 2006 | Reply

  4. Awww, driving instructor … cute. =)

    Bill

    Comment by Bill | August 9, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

